Hero of War (Part 13)

Sergeant Major Peters calls us to attention, quickly putting an end to my tears.

“We must leave immediately men. We must reach the next base by nightfall. Keep your eyes and ears open and shoot anything that moves.” He pauses, studying his boots for a moment. “I’m not about to lose any more of you men– two is two too many.” Tears glistened behind his usual cold, steely facade.

We stood and hoisted our weapons, checking that each of us had a full [pack] of bullets. I wipe the last of my sadness away, burying the useless emotion deep within my chest. My entire body switches into survival mode, no longer wanting to consciously live now that Sophie is gone.

I march behind my fellow soldiers without a thought in my mind.

Just going through the motions.

Leave a Reply

