Hero of War (Part 17)

The strength drains from my arms and into the ground. An explosion of heat surges through me as my body collapses onto the dirt. My vision shakes and blurs as though I was looking at the world through a fun-house mirror.

Pain erupts in my arms and legs. My body becomes consumed by the flames. The heat spreads upward to my splitting head, searing my eyes shut. My throat is parched to the point where my open mouth cannot utter a single sound.

I thought I heard something far away, beyond the pain and the heat. Something that tried desperately to piece the hammering of my heightened heartbeat in my ears.

It fades with my vision.

Leave a Reply

